Singable Translations

Shounen Hero

I easily get attached to songs and that it bad because I will end up translating them and wanting to sing them in a language I can easily communicate with. I translated Weekly Shounen Jump by RADWIMPS recently, but today I just finished making a singable version haha! Of course, since it has to be singable with around the same syllable count per line, it will not be accurate. And it’s been a while, so do bear with me.


Shounen Jump / singable translation

I have always dreamt
of future scenarios
where I’m looking out for you
You’d be in a pinch and I’d
come to the rescue like
a real Shounen hero would

Every night, that dream
would come and I’d sweat hard
fighting the urge to wake
I’d hear the “good morning”
that my mother greets me with
then the battle in my head would suddenly end

The desk beside the window’s owned by someone you will see
who’s always sleeping, always late, but you always believe
Because heroes always start like that

I never really planned to use and say all of the lines
To come off smug and show off all my pride
but I still practice all of ’em secretly
every night

When it’s time, I can finally
tell my leading lady then
my secret identity
and what she really means to me

I have always dreamt
of future scenarios
where I’m looking out for you
You’d be in a pinch and I’d
come to the rescue like
a real Shounen hero would

I was always waiting
maybe a plot twist would happen in my life
When I’m beaten up and all black and blue
won’t I look much cooler while saving you?

That’s why let me have this action-packed dream
even though my heart is worn out from loving you

Could you just stop looking down
like you just lost all of your will to live?
Don’t you watch enough TV to know
that the hero must go on!

I’ve gotten off the ground
so you better not look there anymore
Just look to the sky, and you will see me fly
towards the goal

Looking nowhere else, at no one else other than you
this boy has certainly thought this through
My eyes are meant for only you
My gaze is meant for only you
A hero born for only you
My gaze is meant for only you

A dramatic narration would surely be heard
as I stood my ground on the top of the earth

“Finally, the hero with all of his might
faced the glory he has been waiting to take.
His pride, beaten up all tattered and torn,
he held it tighter, tighter deep in his chest.
He has come to take back what he rightfully owns.
He will take himself back to where he truly belongs.”

And so this boy, he charges forth with all of his strength
He screams and he strains his voice ’til nothing was left
Until the door in front of him will burst open with a beam of light

I have always dreamt
that someday I would be
going against the world
I’d finally prove myself
worthy of being yours after all
the things that I’ve been through

I have always dreamt
of future scenarios
where I’m looking out for you
You’d be in a pinch and I’d
come to the rescue like
a real Shounen hero would

I was always waiting
maybe a plot twist would happen in my life
When I’m beaten up and all black and blue
won’t I look much cooler while saving you?

That’s why I won’t hide my heart anymore
even though it’s tired and worn out from crying for you

Leave a Reply

